***Important Notice***

In response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the Horse Racing Appeal Panel (HRAP) is taking necessary precautionary measures to safeguard the health and well-being of front line staff, parties and Ontarians.

Effective immediately, pursuant to Rule 12.1 of the Panel's Rules of Procedure, the HRAP is adjourning all in-person hearings scheduled for hearing on or before April 10, 2020, to be re-scheduled at a later date.

Please be advised that in all other respects, the HRAP will be maintaining its services as usual.

Service of summonses, in accordance with Rule 3.11 of the Panel's Rules of Procedure, is waived during this period, to allow service other than in-person, such as electronic or courier.

The safety, health, and well-being of our stakeholders and the public continues to be our top priority.

Please take note that appellants and participants are to monitor the HRAP website for further updates and information on the scheduling of new hearing dates.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact the HRAP office at 416-326-8700 or info@hrappealpanel.ca .

***Avis important***

En réponse à la pandémie de coronavirus (COVID-19), le Horse Racing Appeal Panel (HRAP) prend les mesures de précaution nécessaires pour protéger la santé et le bien-être du personnel de première ligne, des parties et des Ontariens.

Avec effet immédiat, conformément à l'article 12.1 du Règlement intérieur du Groupe spécial, le HRAP ajourne toutes les audiences en personne dont l'audience est prévue pour le 10 avril 2020 ou avant, pour être reportée à une date ultérieure.

Veuillez noter qu'à tous autres égards, le HRAP maintiendra ses services comme d'habitude.

La signification des assignations, conformément à la règle 3.11 du Règlement intérieur du Groupe spécial, est supprimée pendant cette période, pour permettre une signification autre qu'en personne, par exemple électronique ou par messagerie.

La sécurité, la santé et le bien-être de nos parties prenantes et du public continuent d'être notre priorité absolute.

Veuillez prendre note que les appelants et les participants doivent surveiller le site Web du HRAP pour obtenir des mises à jour et des informations supplémentaires sur le calendrier des nouvelles dates d'audience.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations supplémentaires, veuillez contacter le bureau du HRAP au 416-326-8700 ou info@hrappealpanel.ca.

Horse Racing Appeal Panel
Resolving Complaints

The Horse Racing Appeal Panel (HRAP) is an independent adjudicative body mandated to hear appeals of decisions made under the Rules of Racing.

The HRAP is committed to providing quality public service to participants in the horse racing industry.  The following process ensures that public complaints about the quality of service provided by the HRAP are responded to in a transparent and fair manner.

If you have a complaint, please direct your issue to the proper channel outlined below:

  • If you would like to appeal the decision of a steward, judge, veterinarian, race track official, racing association official, licensing agent or officer or employee of the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO), please use the appeal process which is summarized in the Guide to Appeals section on the Forms and Resources page.   A Notice of Appeal form can be found on the Forms and Resources page.
  • If your complaint is about an AGCO staff member or if your complaint is regarding the quality of service received when accessing programs and services provided by the AGCO, please use the complaint process described on the AGCO website.
  • If you are not satisfied with the outcome of a hearing of the HRAP, please note that this complaint procedure is NOT intended to provide an opportunity to review or reconsider an official decision of the HRAP.  If you would like to bring an application for judicial review of a decision of the HRAP, you should consult a lawyer on how to appropriately proceed in that respect.

Complaints Process

If you have a complaint about the HRAP, please follow the steps below. Complaints can include issues related to:

  • HRAP staff,
  • an HRAP Panel Member, or
  • the quality of service received when accessing services provided by the HRAP.
  1. Please raise your complaint with any HRAP staff member.  If you have a complaint about a specific HRAP staff member, you are encouraged to speak directly with that staff member to seek a resolution of the issue.  If your complaint relates to a Panel Member, this too should be directed to HRAP staff or else you can follow the process outlined in step 2 below.
  2. If your complaint is not resolved through step 1 or if you are not comfortable raising your complaint directly with an HRAP staff member:
    1. Please submit a written complaint to the email, fax number or mailing address listed below.
    2. Include details and any information that might be helpful to understand your complaint.
  3. Upon receipt of a written complaint, it will be directed to the manager or director of the HRAP Secretariat.
  4. You will receive a confirmation response within 72 hours and further directions at that time.  
  5. Every effort will be made to resolve your complaint and provide reasons for the result or decision.  All concerned parties will be advised of the result of the complaint.

All complaints are kept confidential subject to the provisions of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  However, a person who is the subject of a complaint will be informed of the complaint (including the name of the complainant) to allow them to fully review and respond to the complaint.

If you have a question regarding this policy, please contact the HRAP Secretariat through the contact information below.

This policy does not affect your right to raise any concerns with the Ombudsman of Ontario related to your experience with the HRAP.  It also does not impact your right of appeal under the Horse Racing Licence Act, 2015 or the right to bring an application for judicial review.

This policy will be sent to you in an alternative format, upon request.

Contact Information:
E: info@hrappealpanel.ca
F: 647-723-2198
T: 416.326.8700 or 1.800.522.2876 (toll free in Ontario) and follow the prompts.
M: 90 Sheppard Ave E, Suite 200, Toronto On, M2N 0A4

Comité d’appel des courses de chevaux
Règlement des plaintes

Le Comité d’appel des courses de chevaux (CACC) est un organisme de décision indépendant ayant pour mandat d’entendre les appels des décisions rendues en application des règles sur les courses.

Le CACC s’engage à offrir un service public de qualité aux participants de l’industrie des courses de chevaux. Le processus suivant vise à assurer le traitement transparent et équitable des plaintes du public sur la qualité du service offert par le CACC.

Si vous avez une plainte à formuler, veuillez l’adresser par le moyen approprié :

  • Pour interjeter appel de la décision d’un commissaire, juge, vétérinaire, officiel d’hippodrome, officiel d’association de course, agent de licence ou autre dirigeant ou agent ou employé de la Commission des alcools et des jeux de l’Ontario (CAJO), suivez le processus d’appel publié sur la section "Guides et Appels" sur la page Formulaires et ressources . Le formulaire Avis d’appel se trouve sur la page Formulaires et ressources .
  • Si votre plainte vise un membre du personnel de la CAJO ou la qualité du service reçu au moment d’accéder aux programmes et aux services offerts par la CAJO, suivez le processus de règlement des plaintes présenté sur le site Web de la CAJO.
  • Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de l’issue d’une audience du CACC, veuillez prendre note que le processus de règlement des plaintes ne vise PAS à examiner ou à revoir une décision officielle du CACC. Pour déposer une requête en révision judiciaire d’une décision du CACC, consultez un avocat pour connaître la marche à suivre.

Processus de règlement des plaintes

Si vous avez une plainte à formuler sur le CACC, veuillez suivre les étapes suivantes. Les plaintes peuvent viser :

  • le personnel du CACC;
  • un membre du Comité;
  • la qualité du service reçu au moment d’accéder aux services offerts par le CACC.
  1. Portez plainte auprès d’un membre du personnel du CACC. Si votre plainte vise un membre du personnel du CACC en particulier, nous vous encourageons à lui parler directement pour trouver une solution au problème. Si votre plainte vise un membre du Comité, veuillez l’adresser au personnel du CACC ou suivre le processus décrit à l’étape 2.
  2. Si votre plainte n’est pas réglée après l’étape 1 ou si vous n’êtes pas à l’aise de porter plainte directement auprès d’un membre du personnel du CACC :
    1. Déposez une plainte écrite par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées indiquées ci-après.
    2. Donnez des renseignements détaillés et toute information qui pourrait nous aider à comprendre votre plainte.
  3. Lorsqu’une plainte écrite est reçue, elle est acheminée au gestionnaire ou au directeur du secrétariat du CACC.
  4. Vous recevrez dans les 72 heures une confirmation ainsi que d’autres instructions.
  5. Nous ferons tout en notre pouvoir pour régler votre plainte et expliquer les raisons de l’issue ou de la décision. Toutes les parties concernées seront informées de l’issue de la plainte.

Toutes les plaintes sont confidentielles, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Toutefois, une personne visée par une plainte sera informée de la plainte (notamment du nom du plaignant) pour examiner le tout au complet et y répondre.

Si vous avez des questions sur la politique relative aux plaintes, veuillez communiquer avec le secrétariat du CACC aux coordonnées indiquées ci-dessous.

La politique n’a pas d’incidence sur votre droit de soulever des préoccupations en lien avec votre expérience avec le CACC auprès de l’ombudsman de l’Ontario. Elle n’a pas non plus d’incidence sur votre droit d’appel prévu par la Loi de 2015 sur les licences de courses de chevaux ou votre droit de déposer une requête en révision judiciaire .

La politique peut vous être envoyée dans un format accessible, sur demande.

Coordonnées
Courriel : info@hrappealpanel.ca
Téléc. : 647-723-2198
Tél : 416.326.8700 ou 1.800.522.2876 (sans frais en Ontario) et suivez les instructions.
Poste : 90, avenue Sheppard Est, bureau 200, Toronto (Ontario) M2N 0A4